Saying “adieu” to Vienna

Alan Berg (1885-1935)

Alan Berg (1885-1935)

The Musical Offering's 44th Season
3:00pm April 26th, 2015 | Sundin Music Hall, Hamline University

Quintet for Piano and Winds, Op. 16 - Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet No. 7 - Darius Milhaud
- intermission interview  -
Four Pieces for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 5 - Alban Berg
Nonet - Bohuslav Martinů
- Desserts Reception with Musicians -

Click here for complete program notes

Our final concert of the season sees us bidding farewell to Vienna with two pieces more than a century apart. We open with Beethoven's vivacious Quintet for Piano and Winds and follow it with Berg's dramatic set of Four Pieces for clarinet and piano, two contrasting works highlighting the incredible richness of Viennese culture. We then hint at beautiful things to come next season with the charming String Quartet No. 7 by Darius Milhaud and conclude with the effervescent Nonet by Martinů to welcome spring and say "adieu" to our time in Vienna. Don't miss this energetic and upbeat concert!

This concert includes the entire ensemble: winds, strings, and piano, and guests from the Minnesota Orchestra! Learn more about our musicians and listen to some live recordings by clicking here.

Brown Paper Tickets Ticket Widget Loading...

Click Here to visit the Brown Paper Tickets event page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>