Act IV: Romp & Circumstance

May 17, 2020

L’Heure du Berger by Jean Françaix
A frisky romp in three scenes depicting Parisians enjoying a stylish café, complete with veryenergetic children

Sonata for Viola and Piano by Rebecca Clarke
Rhapsodic and warm, this sonata will win your heart as we celebrate the 100th birthday of its creation

Nonet in E-flat Major, Op. 139 by Josef Rheinberger
We end our season with the lush late romantic sonorities of Rheinberger’s Nonet

The Stories

Rebecca Clarke was an English classical composer and violist best known for her chamber music featuring the viola. She also was one of the first women to succeed as a professional orchestral musician in the early twentieth century.